Partners  of  the  Joyce  Kilmer  Slickrock  Wilderness  

Home Memorial Forest Slickrock Wilderness Map 75th Anniversary The Partners Links Get Involved
News and Updates

Visit our new Facebook Page. Look up Partners of the Joyce Kilmer Slickrock Wilderness and see the latest.

Saturday, October 3rd-Scheduled to have a hike on the Belding Trail, but likely will be rained out. Meeting at USFS Office on Massey Branch at 10 AM. May try something shorter if weather allows.

Saturday, October 10. Cheoah Bald via Nolton Ridge Road and the AT. Meeting at Bear Creek Junction at 10 AM. 2.5 miles, Moderate to Strenuous.

Monday, October 12 (Columbus Day) Hike on Bartram Trail. 3.5 mile steep downhill from Nolton Ridge Road to Nantahala River. Meet at Bartram Trailhead on US Hwy 19/74 in the gorge at 10 AM to carpool to the start point.

Wednesday, October 14th. Partners Meeting. USFS Office on Massey Branch at 10 AM.

Wednesday, October 21. Boat Trip to Proctor. Meet at Fontana Marina at 9 AM (Time Change). Cost of $25 per person for the boat. We'll see the remains of the old town of Proctor and hike in the area. Reservations necessary. Call Dick at 828-479-2503.

Tuesday, October 27th. Full Moon Party. Maple Springs Observation Point near the Memorial Forest. Come and go as you please.


Copyright © 2014 Partners of the Joyce Kilmer Slickrock Wilderness, Inc. Poem Image Copyright © 2008 Miriam A. Kilmer. Designed by Richard G. Evans